crochet

Spring Meadow

I adore my Mother in Law  (a.k.a Grandma)! She is always there for me when I need a chat, or just to waffle on about random crafty ideas I have whizzing round my head at 100 mph. She even told me the other day instead of talking about it all the time just get on with it. Pretty good advice I would say and advice I will certainly be following.

Grandma inspires me to be my best and has so much confidence in me, so this Mother’s Day I decided to make her something special.

I’m calling it my spring meadow blanket!

I am in love with the Stylecraft special DK meadow; it is a gorgeous green and, as green is her favourite colour, it seemed the perfect choice. I also used cream, saffron (which makes me think of Cadburys cream eggs) and citron.

Back in January I did a couple of mock up squares and it was love at first sight.

I found the pattern for the daisy granny square via pinterest; it lead me through to Ravelry. If you knit or crochet I really recommend joining the ravelry community. It is a fab place to find patterns all in one place.

The Daisy pattern I used is on the tillie tulips blog and was really well written. I adored making each and everyone of those squares, but I did tend to jump between the different stages as I like to mix things up a bit.

I made a total of 64 squares (8×8) and used the attic 24 join as you go method, which again had clear instructions and is a joining method I have used in lots of my other blankets.

I then used the bunny mummy how to make a flat border tutorial, which is a great way of stopping the wavy granny border you can some times get when you add in an extra granny cluster

The border then had a further 2 rounds of granny trebles and I then finished it with a double crochet stitch. I just love the simplicity of a straight border on a blanket.


I think all in, it took me about 40 – 50 hours to make  which included 4 hours of weaving in the tail ends which I left until the end ‘sigh’. One of these days I will do this as I go.
Here’s a pic of my final blanket. I’m in love with it. It was very hard to give away as I wanted it all to myself  but, you know what, my Mother in Law is worth it.

Until next time

Kelly x 

2 thoughts on “Spring Meadow

Leave a Reply

