Dressmaking

Too much cuteness…..

……. Yes I am biased!

Hey everyone! Welcome back to my little blog. I hope you have had a great week?

This week I have done far too much sewing, and our poor house is suffering big time, but housework can wait…… right?

Last week I was lucky enough to have my beautiful Pfaff Ambition 1.0 delivered. Mr Crusic and I went to the NEC for the ICHF show a couple of weeks ago to test out sewing machines (well that was my reason for going) I also got the chance to share the exciting world of crafts with my bestest friend. I spent most the day talking about Cleo’s, Betsy’s, fabrics and stitch quality!

It was a real treat to spend the day together and we both had a super day. We also brought the most amazing Flapjacks from a stall called Flapjackery and as long as Mr Crusic is not ‘washing his hair’ he may even come to future shows with me!

So with the temptation of a new sewing machine sitting in the Crusic room waiting to be used and, it also being the last week of school before the Easter break, I started making some tops for my little peeps.

First off I made the sugar pie from Patterns for Pirates.

The fabric is from Girl Charlee UK. I must confess I faded the hearts 😥 I pre washed the fabric at 40 degrees!  I knew at some point it  would end up in a normal wash and I did not want to risk it shrinking at a later date. This was very naughty of me as it says delicate wash and obviously not something I would recommend!

I had already made myself a top with the same fabric to wear last Sunday, which was Mothers Day here in the UK, and I felt amazing all day.

Luckily for my little lady, I had enough left to make a ‘mini me’ version.  She was so chuffed with it when she got home, which I find rather amusing. I hated being put in the same outfits as my little sister when I was younger, let alone matching my mum.

Little Lady

I think she looks amazing though and quite the little model.

I do have quite a selection of Patterns for Pirates in my little pattern collection and I often make myself the ladies version called the sweet tee which I first saw at That’s sew Amy on the minerva blogger network.

 

Next I used the Yo Ho Henley pattern. I went for the short sleeve with a Placket for my big little man.

I used a fabric left over from a previous project. The picture does not do it justice, it is actually 2 really lovely blue stripes.

Super proud of this placket!

I am so pleased with the placket and really enjoyed the process of installing it. I also took the chance to use some Kam snaps; I have had them for years and only ever used them to repair the kids duvet covers!

The Collar is a little ropey it took me 3 attempts until I settled with it. I will try again one day to make another placket and collar but I need a bit of time to recover first!

My Big Little Man

Another great pose. He loves his top and keeps asking to wear it.

I made a trip to Fabritastic mid week which is a shop in Peterborough. About 20 miles away from me. I had already contacted Laura and asked her to pop aside the coco pattern by Tilly and the buttons (a pattern I hope to make when the little peeps go back to school).

I also picked up some quilting cotton for a couple of cushions I am making for gifts, and could not resist the rainbow and flower jerseys!.

Yay!! Happy shopping trip

The Jerseys went straight in the wash and I put the rainbows together with some grey jersey scraps I had at home.

For my eldest I turned the sleves into 3/4 length and did a binded neckline rather than the t-shirt option included in the pattern. I just really love the look and my pfaff top stiches the binding down beautifully. I also did the banded option instead of a hem.

My Big Little Lady

I am utterly jealous of this top!! I even said to Mr Crusic how I would love to have one and look just like an 80’s children’s TV presenter.

There was also enough to make one for my littlest man. This one was hemmed using the short sleeves and I used the neck binding again to finish. He had some great cheeky little poses going on.

My Little Man

Here they are together. They are so gorgeous and fill me with pride everyday.

My Little Peeps

I loved watching them running around in the garden all day in their mummy made tops. I just love them to bits!

Anyway until next time

Kelly x

8 thoughts on “Too much cuteness…..

      1. I’ve never seen one of their patterns but I am on their Facebook group. I love the look of their stuff. You should try Colette patterns. I have loved all of their stuff so far 😊

        Like

Leave a Reply

