Charity · crochet · Knitting

Intermittent Crafting

 

It has been a little while since I last wrote a blog post. We have had 2 and a half weeks off school for the Easter Holidays, which has meant very little sewing time for me. As a Mummy I needed to focus on my little people and keeping them fed, watered and happy!

I have managed some crafting time, I love the fact my yarn and hook are so easy to pick up and put down again when my sanity has craved it. It was lovely being able to sit in the conservatory, enjoy a cup of tea whilst watching the little people play in the garden.

I started a lovely cosy stripe blanket a pattern tutorial by Lucy at attic 24. I am in love with the rows of granny clusters and treble (double crochet) stitches. I was on a bit of a yarn stash busting mission!! Too many balls of yarn hanging around in the Crusic Room. So I gathered up my Stylecraft special DK and set to work.

I really wanted to do random colour striping, but it gives me a real headache! I guess that’s the control  freak in me trying to keep things uniform!  So I have used the following colour repeat,  which if you are interested are Clematis, Aster, Saffron, Fondant, Sherbet, Shrimp, Meadow, Turquoise, Candy Floss, Camel, Lavender and Aspen. I am more than half way through and can’t wait to see the finished result.

20170423_103511
Isn’t it glorious? It will look great in the little people’s playroom.

I also made a couple of bonding squares for the charity Emily’s Star. These gorgeous little 5 inch squares are included in gift boxes, that are made by the Emily Star charity.

These boxes are distributed to UK hospitals and are given to parents of premature babies. They include lots of useful items including; a notebook, pen, wash bags, baby grows and nappies (in teeny tiny sizes)

Each box also includes the following knitted and/or crocheted items. A Hat, Blanket, a pair of Bonding Squares one to keep with mum and one for baby. This is so baby can get use to mum’s scent and help with the bonding process, and a little Cardigan to keep them warm.

I have made several hats, blankets and bonding square items in the past. I will continue to make them bits as and when I have the time.

Emily’s Star also raise awareness about Trisomy 18 which is a chromosomal defect called Edwards syndrome. Now I have a basic knowledge of this so rather than me explaining why not pop on over to the Emily’s star website and see what good work Katie and her team are doing. If you have some spare time to knit/crochet up some items go check out the lovely community on Facebook, Which can be found under Emily’s knitting army.

20170423_103552-1
I think the simplicity of double crochet is lovely! The border is a crab stitch

 

Oh and I even got my knit on and made 1 teeny tiny hat for Innocent smoothies Help the Aged campaign. Poor little hat ……. he is still waiting for his Pompom!

I do like to knit but I am so slow at it, and bigger projects scare me as they take forever for me to complete and it gives me pains in my wrist and hands. So these little hats are perfect for a quick knitting fix.

I do hope to make several more before the deadline on the 31st July. The Big Knit I’ll keep you updated closer to the time.

20170423_103603-1

Oh and one last thing to share a little spot of Amigurumi. I made a Unicorn from a kit which was a free gift on Simply Crochet magazine (Issue 54). I purchased the magazine to make the Granny Stripe cardigan but I am going to wait till I can make it in a smaller size!

20170412_111214
She looks pretty proud sat on my new Pfaff 1.0 Ambtiion

 

Anyway till next time, when I will share my Tilly and the Buttons Coco experience!

Kelly x

 

Leave a Reply

