Dressmaking · sewing

Maxi Dress Love

If you follow me on Instagram you probably know, I have a love affair with Patterns for Pirates! Every pattern I have used has suited me and has made me feel super confident. 

Last year I wore many pencil skirts and sweet tees and a few essential tank in the shirt length. Adding bands to clothing was not my forte when I started dress making, but I still  wore my wonky tanks with pride. I made them so why not show them off!

When I purchased the essential tank pattern last year it was to make the maxi dress version. Unfortunatley I lacked the confidence in my sewing skills and my body shape to make one. I thought it would cling too much in the wrong places, well my mum tum and make me feel terribly self concious about myself. 

So Wednesday night just gone, the night before my birthday. I decided I was going to make one with some jersey from my fabric stash. 

Having more confidence in my sewing skills and having just read a blog post on the patterms for patterns website about FBA’s (Full Bust Adjustment’s) and how I should not need one as the patterns Judy designs are drafted for curvy bodies. I got out my tape measure and measured up. I fit perfectly into one of the size categories. So printed off my PDF stuck together with tape. (Which I ran out of part way through, panic scotch tape search commenced and pattern taping resumed when I found some. Phew!) 

I cut out, used my lovely overlocker to put together and topstitched my neck band.

Instead of ths front spilt I decided to do the 2 side splits as I am seeing them everywhere at the moment and I love them! 

I popped my dress on and was so pleased with how it looked.

I felt happy with what I saw in the mirror! 

The dress is fitted at the bust, showed off my curves and hung perfectly over my lumps and bumps. 

 It is just the sort of dress I love to wear!!!

My dress makes me feel confident in my own skin again which is something I had certainly been lacking before I started making my own clothes… 

Well I was so impressed I wanted MORE before my holiday’s which we were going to on Friday….. hmmm not likely to happen then. 

How wrong was I? My wonderful husband said go make up some more while I get the house straight. He is the best šŸ™‚ 

So I cut out 2 more and put them together on Friday morning. Again super pleased with both of them and I have worn them with pride šŸ˜„

I have even been asked by a couple of friends if I could make some for them. High praise indeed I say. Here are my other 2 dresses. 

Update on my Freja dress too. It is made, it is beautiful but is slightly snug so I will blog about this soon once the healthy eating lifestly kicks in again as who can diet on holiday? 

Until next time

Kelly x 

Leave a Reply

