Dressmaking · sewing

A kinda May roundup

May has been a great month and was super excited to recieve an email from girl charlee UK and to see 2 of my makes being selected for knitpicks again this month with one of my little ladies 

I have not been able to showcase a different outfit everyday via my instagram account @crusicroom but I have certainly worn me made everyday.
I also pledged I would make a Freja Dress which was a free pattern in simply Sewing magazine. Which I made. Yay me!

I am in love with the patch pockets and really pleased how well I constructed it, as I have already promised a full blog post will be coming soon, Here is a quick pic to keep you going for now and to prove I made it. šŸ˜„

So in ā¤ with my first patch pockets and my first darts šŸ˜„

I have really enjoyed seeing everyone’s beautiful wardrobes and have been inspired daily during the month of May.

I also learnt about an event in Leicester called the dressmakers ball. It looked like a hoot and I am keeping all my fingers and toes crossed that it is on again next year and I have gained enough experience to make my own beautiful gown to wear. Watch this space šŸ‘€

So here is a snapshot of some of my outfits during the month of may.

L – R Sweet tee and RTW jeans, Essential Tank Maxi, Coco funnel neck, Sweet Tee and Pencil Skirt, Linden Sweatshirt

I also tried 3 new patterns this month.

  1. The Patterns for Pirates Essential Tank maxi dress,  I wrote about them in my last blog post. I was so in love with the look of them I made 3! These have been super comfortable to wear during our family holiday in Norfolk/Suffolk. 
  2.  Is my Frejs dress above. šŸ˜
  3. Is my Linden sweatshirt out of some very glittery seestshirt fabric I got from fabworks mill. I just love the 80’s vibe of this sweatshirt and it is very easy to throw on with jeans. 
Too much sparkle for a 37 year old? Nah!!!!

My birthday was also in May and hubby and I spent a couple of hours over at Burwash manor near Cambridge.

We had brunch at the Flock Cafe and it was amazing I just had to take a picture! Yummy….

Whilst at Burwash we just had to pop into Backstitch which is a lovely ‘fabric and yarny’ goodness shop. It would have been rude not to spend some of my birthday pennies on fabric right?

I purchased 2 viscose jerseys and that amazing Raspberry Pink sweatshirt fleece in the middle. I plan on making the short sleeve version of the Linden sweatshirt pictyre below. It will be ideal to throw over tshirts and dresses when a chill is in the air during the summer months.

Linden Sweatshirt Image from Grainline studio website.

I have lots of plans for June which I will write about soon when I return home from my holidays. I’m hoping to put a bullet journal into action so I can be more organised with my makes. 

Until next time

Kelly x 

Leave a Reply

